17 no More!

Long time, no see!

I figured that I absolutely had to make a post today because, *cue the sad music,* it is my last day as a seventeen-year-old. My birthday is tomorrow. Yes, I know what you are thinking… I’m getting old.

 old

Well, I guess not that old…yet…

As I look back over this past year, I am shocked by how fast it flew by. I feel like I just turned sixteen yesterday—yes, I am one of those “back-in-my-day” people (please bear with me here). Sixteen, the age that I officially started to write Naga Ceyon. I just finished skimming through “chapter one” of my very first draft, and let me tell you: It is very different from the current chapter one. So much has been added and subtracted since then that I almost did not recognize it at first. Amazing.

Seventeen, the age that I decided to become an engineer. Before, I wanted to be a Radiologist, and before that I wanted to be a Veterinarian. My parents are both physicians, and my sister is finishing up Pre-Med. Apparently my brother and I are the odd ones in the family. He is into marketing and I like to build stuff. I am not exactly sure what finally led me away from medicine and into the world of Engineering, but there is one thing that I know for sure: I was born to create. When I was 6 or 7, I remember designing and attempting to build a drivable toy car made completely out of cardboard boxes. I had cut the frame, crafted two doors with locks and retractable windows, and found the perfect material to be used as a windshield—plastic from Barbie doll boxes—but eventually I gave up. There was one part of the design that I simply could not figure out. Wheels. I spent days trying to figure out how to use what little resources that I had left to build durable wheels. Sadly, none of designs worked, so I trashed the entire project.

 plain_box_group_web

My next little building event was designing Maze Theme Park, the largest maze theme park in the world. I created several mazes ranging in difficulty from easy to hard. My hardest maze, The Impossible Maze, confounded even the counselors at GoodTimes (an afterschool program that I attended in Elementary and Middle School).

PIC_0056

The truth is that it literally was an “impossible” maze. The only way to solve it was to travel past an obscure gap between a certain wall. Yes, I know that was cheating, but at the time I took pleasure in watching the frustrated faces of everybody.

troll-face

Heheh…I was an evil little kid.

imagesCABH3KC1

All of my other mazes were legit though. Several of them were labeled difficult by many, so I really did know how to make challenging mazes without cheating.

I am also good at solving puzzles. I finished a 2000-piece puzzle for my sister’s birthday once, and I can solve a 3x3x3 and 5x5x5 Rubik’s’ cube. Why it took me so long to figure out that I should be an engineer as opposed to a doctor, I have no idea. Oh, well. Better late than never, right?

Well, that is pretty much it for today. This concludes my final post as a seventeen-year-old.

 

PIC_0046

Leave a Reply

